How Many Timelines Are There In The 'Halloween' Movies?

Horror Movie Blog > Horror Movie QuestionsHalloween Timelines

Explaining the five timelines in the Halloween horror movie franchise

If you have ever wanted to know about the timelines in the Halloween movies, here is a simple explanation about them. In total there are 5 timelines in the franchise.

Halloween to Halloween II

The first timeline begins with Halloween and continues with Halloween II. These two movies follow the story of Michael Myers and his pursuit of Laurie Strode, and Dr. Loomis and Jamie Lloyd also play important roles in this timeline. This is probably the most straightforward and cohesive storyline.

Halloween 4, 5, and 6

The second timeline consists of Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers, Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers, and Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers. This timeline introducec new characters and explores more of the supernatural elements surrounding Michael Myers.

Halloween H20 and Halloween Resurrection

The third timeline includes Halloween H20: 20 Years Later and Halloween: Resurrection. These movies ignore the events of Halloween 4, 5, and 6 and follow Laurie Strode's life after the original Halloween.

Rob Zombie's Halloween and Halloween II

The fourth timeline features Rob Zombie's remake of Halloween and its sequel, Halloween II. These movies retell the story of Michael Myers, offering a different interpretation of the character and offer a darker and grittier tone of the timeline.

Halloween (2018) and Halloween Kills

The fifth and final timeline includes the recent movies Halloween (2018) and Halloween Kills. This timeline serves as a direct sequel to the original Halloween, disregarding all other sequels and reboots. 

The movie 'Halloween' has 5 different timelines over all the movies

Check out some other horror questions: